Sync Setting In ProfitSee

This article will help you configure the sync settings to your preference so that you are always in control of the data being displayed in ProfitSee.

Screen Shot 2019-09-12 at 2.43.23 PM

 

First and foremost, the important thing to take away from this article is that these settings have NO impact on data entries performed in ProfitSee. For example, changes made in the Budget Wizard or Budget Data Entry tab will NEVER be overwritten during a sync with your source accounting software. There are three options you have to choose from depending on what is best suited for you and the client. 

 

1. "Don't override old financial data entries on sync."

Screen Shot 2019-09-12 at 3.27.02 PM

This option will prevent any updated actual data entries in your accounting file from overwriting old financial data entries during the sync. Enabling this option will keep a snapshot of the actual data from your data provider that has already been synced in and ignore any updates. 

 

2. "Don't override old budget data entries on sync."

Screen Shot 2019-09-12 at 4.28.52 PM

This option will prevent any updated budget data entries in your accounting file from overwriting old budget data entries during the sync. Enabling this option will keep a snapshot of the budget data from your data provider that has already been synced in and ignore any updates. 

 

 

3. Nightly Sync 

Screen Shot 2019-09-12 at 4.34.38 PM

 

This option will activate the data synchronization with your accounting file on a nightly basis. Instead of syncing on-demand every time you want a look in real-time, select this option and sit back while ProfitSee does all the work!

 

 

4. Case Study

a. In Xero, you have a budget already loaded with an entry in February 2019 for $1,025

b. You sync with ProfitSee, and you now will see this $1,025 value in ProfitSee 

c. You then change this value in Xero to $1,275

d. Since 'Don't override old budget data entries' is disabled by default, this means you will see this new $1,275 value in ProfitSee after syncing. 

e. If you enable the option in the previous step, you would still see a value of $1,025 in ProfitSee instead of the updated amount of $1,275. 

 

 

Thanks for reading! We hope this helps to explain how data is synced into ProfitSee from your data provider, and also gives you some insight as to what is best for your circumstance. If you have any questions please contact your dedicated account manager, or reach out to us at support@myprofitsee.com.